Smart phone Application
SI |  EN |  DE |  IT |  HR


As the first among the 10 new Member States which joined the EU in 2004, Slovenia adopted the euro as its official currency on 1 January 2007. The country nestled between the Adriatic Sea and the Alps is thus the 13th state to join the European monetary union. The tolar, the national currency, ceased to be used 15 years after its introduction; at the time, Slovenians paid 239.64 tolars for one euro. The new coins feature, among other things, Lipizzaner horses, Triglav as the highest mountain in the country, and France Prešeren as the author of the national anthem.
As of the beginning of March 2007, the old Slovenian currency (tolar) can be exchanged for €uros only in the issuing bank (Bank of Slovenia).


Banks will exchange foreign currency and travellers checks for Euros and vice versa. Foreign residents may open Euro and foreign currency accounts, and it is possible to send money orders and transfer payments. Changing money is also possible at exchange offices in hotels, gasoline stations, tourist agencies, supermarkets, and numerous small exchange offices.

Hours of operation:
Weekdays: 8:30-12:30 and 14:00-17:00
Saturdays: 8:30 to 11:00/12:00


Working hours are mostly nonstop without lunch time closing.
- Weekdays: 8:00 to 19:00
- Saturdays: 8:00 to 13:00
- Sundays and holidays: On duty pharmacies, etc., and some private stores

Payment is in Euros; most stores accept credit cards: AMERICAN EXPRESS, DINERS, MASTER CARD - EUROCARD, and VISA. 

I Feel Slovenia ESSR Mestna občina Kranj Gorenjska Gremo gor